HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE OR CIVIL UNION LICENSE in Jefferson County, Illinois
A license issued in Jefferson County is only valid in Jefferson County, Illinois. Both applicants must appear in person at least 30 minutes before closing to fill out paperwork and for us to enter into computer.
Fee: $75.00* (plus $10 Judge Fee, if performed by Judge)
Age: 18 and older with copy of official birth record showing parents (not hospital certificate) and government issued photo ID for both parties.
Also, 16 and 17 year olds with both parents consent in front of County Clerk or notary, with copy of official birth record (not hospital certificate) and government issued photo ID for all parties.
License valid for 60 days after effective date. Illinois does not require blood tests.
Waiting period: 1 day unless Judge waives the waiting period (marriages only, not civil unions). Ask when scheduling appointment with Judge.
NOTE: Judges only marry by appointment. Call 618.244.8005 ext. 4. You may have to leave telephone number(s) to receive a return call for scheduling an appointment. (Judge fee $10)
Same Sex Marriage was signed into law by Governor Quinn on November 30, 2013, and took effect on June 1, 2014. To view the memo issued by the State regarding coversion from a Civil Union click here.